INTERVIEWS

back to list / overview
07/2008     Jens Pohl   Majk Moti     (English Version)


Hallo Majk, lass uns mit dem beginnen, was sicherlich alle am meisten interessiert: Womit bist du momentan beschäftigt und was hast du für die nähere Zukunft geplant?

In den letzten Jahren habe ich mich sehr viel mit Softwareentwicklung beschäftigt und das mache ich auch heute noch. Darüber hinaus beschäftige ich mich mit mittelalterlicher Darstellung und viel mit Pferden und allem, was damit zusammenhängt. Zur Zeit bin ich aber auch sehr stark damit befasst eine neue Band zu formieren. Im Grunde steht die Gruppe schon, aber es gibt noch viele Songs zu schreiben und Ideen zu verwirklichen. Derzeit haben wir die generelle Ausrichtung Symphonic Metal, etwa wie NIGHTWISH, den Namen D'ORCA, und einige Songs, an denen aber noch gebastelt wird.

Viele Fans kennen dich ausschließlich unter dem Namen Majk Moti, dabei ist das lediglich ein Künstlername. Wie kam es denn dazu? Was hat es damit auf sich?

Nicht lediglich...ich habe schon einen persönlichen Bezug dazu. Damals, auf der "Gates To Purgatory" und auch der "Branded And Exiled", ab der ich dabei war, haben Rolf und seine Jungs lediglich Vornamen benutzt. Ich fand Mike zu langweilig und Maik gab es schon, also habe ich das i durch ein j ersetzt und so entstand Majk. Später fand ich einfach nur Majk auch langweilig. Meine damalige Freundin hieß Moti, und so war der Name perfekt. (lacht) Moti ist ursprünglich ein indischer Name.

Du hast eben gesagt, dass du eine neue Band formierst. Spielst du denn auch heute noch Gitarre oder ein anderes Instrument?

Ich spiele leidenschaftlich gern Gitarre und übe täglich. Während der letzten Jahre habe ich sogar einiges an Unterricht in Jazz und Swing genommen, um auch ein bisschen über den Tellerrand zu schauen. Außerdem spiele ich mit viel Spaß klassische Gitarre, besonders Bach, und versuche mich an mittelalterlichen Klängen wie der Laute und der Mandoline. Ich spiele aber auch noch Schlagzeug und Keyboards...letzteres aber eher laienhaft.

Während bei RUNNING WILD ja ein ständiges Kommen und Gehen war, was die Mitmusiker betrifft, warst du für eine vergleichsweise lange Zeit eine feste Konstante innerhalb der Band. Hattest du in irgendeiner Weise einen Sonderstatus inne, was Mitspracherecht, Studioarbeit oder Songwriting betrifft, oder fühltest du dich stets als "ganz normales" Bandmitglied?

Ich fühlte mich als ganz normales Bandmitglied. Zu Zeiten von Jens und Stefan war ich mit Rolf zusammen zwar allein in der GbR und hatte somit ein gesellschaftliches bzw. rechtliches Mitspracherecht. Was das Songwriting betraf, so war das mit Rolf ein etwas schwieriger Fall, da er für sich den typischen RUNNING WILD-Stil gepachtet hatte. Aber das hat mir eigentlich überhaupt keine Probleme bereitet. Einen Sonderstatus habe ich nie gesehen, wir waren einfach vier Leute, die zusammen Musik machten.

Gab es in der Zeit, in der du bei RUNNING WILD warst, so etwas wie Freundschaften mit anderen Mitgliedern auch über die Bandarbeit hinaus? Oder gab es auch Mitmusiker, mit denen du überhaupt nicht klarkamst? Und hast du heute noch Kontakt zu irgendwelchen Ex-Kollegen?

Mit Rolf war ich einige Zeit recht nah befreundet, ja, das kann man schon so nennen. Wir haben zwar schon lange keinen Kontakt mehr, aber ich mag ihn. Mit Stephan Boriss, dem Bassist der früheren Zeiten, hatte ich auch kurze Zeit einen engeren Kontakt, der aber nach seinem Ausscheiden abflaute. Schade eigentlich, denn Stephan war wirklich ein Pfundskerl. Hasche mochte ich auch recht gern; mit ihm habe ich heute noch sporadischen Kontakt. Stefan Schwarzmann habe ich wirklich sehr gemocht und habe gerade wieder schriftlichen, freundlichen Kontakt mit ihm, worüber ich mich sehr freue. Ich war damals sehr enttäuscht, dass er uns nach so kurzer Zeit Richtung U.D.O. wieder verließ. Mit Jens Becker hatte ich anfangs so meine Probleme, und er wohl auch mit mir, aber die sind heute vergessen. Ich mag ihn wirklich sehr und wir schreiben uns seit Kurzem hin und wieder über MySpace. Mit Ausnahme von Iain Finlay hatte ich eigentlich zu allen Mitgliedern von RUNNING WILD ein freundschaftliches Gefühl, zum Einen mehr, zum Anderen auch mal weniger, aber insgesamt waren wir damals eher gute Kumpels bis Freunde statt einfach nur projektbezogene Arbeitskollegen. Zumindest war das mein Empfinden.

Die Piratenthematik seit der "Under Jolly Roger" war ja größtenteils Rolfs Idee und persönliches Steckenpferd. Inwieweit konntest du dich mit diesem Drumherum überhaupt identifizieren? Denn es betraf ja nicht nur die Texte, sondern auch das Artwork, z.B. die Bandzeichnungen auf "Under Jolly Roger" und "Port Royal", sowie die Bühnenshow. Hast du dich denn von dieser Faszination anstecken lassen und selbst Interesse dafür entwickelt, oder fandest du das Ganze im Grunde eher lächerlich und hast lediglich mitgemacht, weil es eben Teil deines Jobs war?

Damit konnte ich mich durchaus identifizieren. Einerseits mochte ich das spielerische Element - welcher Junge möchte nicht Pirat sein (lacht) - andererseits gefiel es mir erheblich besser als Death und Demons, das fand ich etwas morbide, um ehrlich zu sein. Es war ein weites Feld und man konnte auch bühnentechnisch und vom Outfit her viel damit machen. Also insgesamt fand ich das prima und kein bisschen lächerlich. Ich habe es aber auch wiederum nicht so ernst genommen, dass es zu meinem Lebensinhalt wurde.

Mitte bis Ende der Achtziger gab' es wohl mal das Gerücht, dass RUNNING WILD zu einem Piratenfilm einen Song oder sogar einen kompletten Soundtrack beisteuern sollten. Ist das wahr? Und wenn ja, um welchen Film handelte es sich denn?

Sorry, davon weiß ich nichts, zumindest erinnere ich mich nicht und schon gar nicht an einen konkreten Film. Also: keine Ahnung.

An welchen Moment während deiner Zeit bei RUNNING WILD erinnerst du dich am liebsten zurück und denkst "Mann, war DAS damals geil"? Und welchen Moment würdest du am liebsten aus der Geschichte streichen?

Die ersten Monate waren schon ein Hammer. Ich kam aus einer kleinen Provinzband und hatte meinen ersten Auftritt vor 12.000 Leuten auf der Loreley, das war schon cool. Die Tour mit MÖTLEY CRÜE fand ich sehr spannend und auch die darauf folgende USA-Tour, trotz aller Probleme... Streichen möchte ich gar nichts, alles ist Teil meiner Lebenserfahrung, Gutes wie Schlechtes, und ich wäre ohne all das heute ein anderer Mensch. Aber das will ich gar nicht sein, denn ich bin ganz zufrieden mit mir.

OK, stell dir vor, Rolf kommt auf die Idee, 2009 (angesichts des 25-jährigen Jubiläums des Debüt-Albums "Gates To Purgatory") eine Art History-Show auf die Beine zu stellen (z.B. auf einem Sommerfestival oder im Rahmen einer kleinen Tour), bei der Lieder aus sämtlichen Phasen der Bandgeschichte im jeweiligen Original-Line-Up aufgeführt werden sollen. Würdest du bei einer solchen Aktion mitmachen? Und bist du gitarrentechnisch wirklich noch so fit, dass du dir eine Handvoll Klassiker ("Port Royal", "Riding The Storm", "Raise Your Fist", "Wild Animal"...) einfach aus dem Ärmel schüttelst, oder müsstest du erst 'ne Weile üben?

Klar würde ich das mitmachen, warum nicht! Technisch bin ich fit, ich spiele ja aktiv und übe regelmäßig. Für den RUNNING WILD-Stil müsste ich natürlich ein bisschen üben, aber nicht sehr viel, eher um mir die Songs wieder draufzuschaffen.

Gibt es eigentlich einen Song - vielleicht einer deiner eigenen Songs - der eher selten oder nie live gespielt wurde, den du aber unbedingt mit ins Programm aufnehmen würdest?

Klar, "Death Or Glory" zum Beispiel. Das ist ein Song von mir und wurde nie live gespielt. Aber von einigen Ausnahmen abgesehen mochte ich damals eigentlich alle Songs, also wäre es mir ziemlich egal, was wir live spielen, Hauptsache es geht die Post ab.

Kommen wir kurz zu einigen allgemeineren Fragen: Wenn du die Möglichkeit hättest, in was für einem Film würdest du gern mitspielen und in welcher Rolle?

"Pirates of the Carribbean" fände ich Klasse, ein normales Crewmitglied würde mir schon reichen. Oder einen bösen Goa'Uld bei "Stargate".

Wer ist oder war ein Vorbild bzw. Idol für dich?

Ich habe keine Idole oder direkte Vorbilder. Allerdings fand ich Ghandi sehr mutig und Siddharta Gautama sehr weise. Das sind schon Figuren, an denen ich mich orientieren würde.

Interessierst du dich denn für Geschichte und Politik?

Ja, sehr sogar. Wobei mich nicht historische Daten, also genaue Tage und Jahre interessieren, sondern Strömungen, Entwicklungen...

Mit welcher historischen Person würdest du dich gern unterhalten und worüber?

Mit Hildegard von Bingen und Edgar Cayce über Heilkunde, mit Octavian (Augustus) über Menschenführung, mit Cicero über Literatur und Dichtung und mit Mozart über Musik.

OK, kommen wir wieder zurück zur Musik: Was fällt dir zu folgenden Musikern ein?

Alice Cooper - alt

Ludwig van Beethoven - genial

James Hetfield - müde

Lenny Kravitz - cool

Ozzy Osbourne - total abgedreht

Rolf Kasparek - außerirdisch

Rob Halford - laut und geil

Jim Morrison - tot

Dave Mustaine - noch toter

Timo Tolkki - STRATOVARIUS, AVANTASIA...cooler Gitarrist

Doro Pesch - singt

Marylin Manson - krank

Chris Boltendahl - GRAVE DIGGER...kenne ich nicht so gut

Nachfolgend möchte ich noch einmal auf RUNNING WILD zu sprechen kommen. Bewerte bitte die folgenden RUNNING WILD-Alben anhand einer Skala von 1 bis 10. (1 = miserabel ... 10 = perfekt)

Gates To Purgatory - 8

Branded And Exiled -5

Under Jolly Roger - 6

Port Royal - 8

Death Or Glory -10 :-)

Den Rest kenne ich leider nicht, sorry...

Was ist dein Lieblingssong von RUNNING WILD und warum?

"Riding The Storm". Ich mag den Refrain sehr und es hat mir immer einen Höllenspass gemacht, den zu spielen.

Welchen Song von RUNNING WILD magst du überhaupt nicht?

"Black Demon"

Vielen Dank für deine Zeit!

Gerne. Und beste Grüße an alle!
www.running-wild.net / Copyright © 1996-2013 by Running Wild / Design: www.sourcepulse.biz
Running Wild Forum
Buy official Running Wild merchandise at Ballroom Hamburg
Running Wild @ amazon.de Facebook Official Twitter Official

INTERVIEWS

back to list / overview
07/2008     Jens Pohl   Majk Moti     (German Version)


Hello, Majk. Let's start with a point that probably everyone wants to know. What are you doing at the moment, and what are your plans for the near future?

During the last few years I have been pretty much occupied with software development, and I'm still doing that today. Apart from that, I'm very fond of medieval re-enactment and horses and such things. At the moment I'm also busy forming a new band. Basically, the band is complete, but we still have to write many songs and realize several ideas. At present, our musical style is Symphonic Metal, roughly like NIGHTWISH, our name is D'ORCA, and there is a bunch of songs, but we are still working on them.

Many fans only know you by the name Majk Moti, although it is only a stage name. Can you explain the background of it?

Not only, I really have a personal relation to that name. Back then, on "Gates to Purgatory" and also "Branded and Exiled", when I joined the band, Rolf and the other guys only used their first names. I found Mike too boring, and Maik existed already. So I replaced the "i" with a "j", resulting in Majk. Later I found that only "Majk" was boring, too. My girlfriend's name back then was Moti, and so the name was perfect. :-) Originally, Moti is a name from India.

You just said that you are forming a new band. Do you still play the guitar or any other instrument?

I love playing the guitar passionately, and I practice every day. During the last years, I even took some lessons in Jazz and Swing to broaden my horizon. Apart from that I enjoy playing the classical guitar, especially Bach, and I'm also tinkering with medieval sounds like the lute and the mandolin. And I even play some drums and keyboards, the latter quite amateurishly, though.

While there was always a vivid coming and going in the RUNNING WILD line-ups, you used to be a solid constant in the band for a relatively long period of time. Did you have any kind of special status, e.g. regarding important decisions, studio work or song-writing, or did you always feel like a "quite normal" member?

I always felt like a normal band member. During the time with Jens and Stefan, only Rolf and I belonged to the GbR [German term for civil law association] and so I had a voice in official or legal matters. As far as song-writing was concerned, that was quite difficult with Rolf, because he had the monopoly of the typical RUNNING WILD style. But that never really was a problem for me. I didn't perceive anything like a special status, we were simply four guys who played music together.

Was there anything like a friendship between you and other members that went beyond the band itself? Or were there also some fellow musicians that you just couldn't get along with? And are you still in contact with any ex-members?

Rolf and I were quite close friends for some time, yes that's what you can call it. We haven't been in touch for a long time, but I really like him. With Stephan Boriss, the bass-player from the old days, I also had a closer contact for a short while, but this vanished when he left the band. Which is a pity, because he really was a cool guy. I also liked Hasche quite much, and we are still in touch every once in a while. Stefan Schwarzmann is someone I was very fond of, and I've just corresponded with him again, which I'm very happy about. I was so disappointed when he left us after such a short time to join U.D.O. I had some problems with Jens Becker, which was probably a mutual thing, but those are forgotten today. I really like him, and we have just started mailing to each other via MySpace. With Iain Finlay being the only exception, I actually felt a sense of friendship towards all RUNNING WILD members, sometimes more, sometimes less. All in all, we were rather good ol' buddies back then and not just project-based colleagues. At least that's what I felt.

The whole pirate-theme starting with "Under Jolly Roger" was mainly Rolf's idea and personal passion. To what extent could you actually identify with this theme? I mean, it didn't only influence the lyrics but also the artwork (e.g. the band pictures on "Under Jolly Roger" and "Port Royal") and the stage settings. Were you also inspired with fascination and did you get interested in the topic yourself? Or did you believe that the whole thing was rather pathetic and you had to participate only because it was a part your job?

Well, I could absolutely identify with it. On the one hand, I enjoyed the element of acting which boy does not dream to be a pirate ;-) on the other hand, I liked it much better than death and demons, which I found quite morbid, honestly. It was a vast field and had a lot of potential regarding staging and outfits. So I found it cool and not pathetic at all. But neither did I take it so seriously that it became my purpose in life.

In the mid- or late 80s there was a rumour that RUNNING WILD were supposed to contribute a song or even a complete soundtrack to a pirate film. Is this true? If so, which film was it?

I don't know anything about that. At least I can't remember, let alone a particular title. So: No idea at all.

Considering your time in RUNNING WILD, is there a moment that you love to remember, thinking "Boy, THAT was great back then"? And which moment would you rather erase from history?

The first months were truly awesome. I came from a small backwoods band and had my first show at the Loreley festival in front of 12.000 people, which was absolutely cool. The tour with MÖTLEY CRÜE was very exciting, and also the USA-tour that followed, despite all the problems. I wouldn't erase anything at all, everything belongs to my experience of life, the good things as well as the bad things, and without them I would be a different person today. Which I don't want to be, because I am just happy the way I am.

Imagine, in 2009 (marking the 25th anniversary of the debut-album "Gates to Purgatory") Rolf gets the idea to set up a kind of history-show (e.g. for a summer festival or a small tour). Songs from each period of the band's history are supposed to be performed by the original line-up, respectively. Would you participate in such an event? And are your guitar-skills still so fresh that you could perform a handful of classics ("Port Royal", "Riding the Storm", "Raise your Fist", "Wild Animal") just like that, or would you have to practise a while?

Of course, I would do that, why not! Technically I am fit, because I play actively and rehearse regularly. For the RUNNING WILD style I might have to practise a bit, but not very much. Rather to acquire the songs again.

Is there maybe a song (maybe one of your own compositions) that was seldom or never performed live, but that you definitely would like to include in the setlist?

Sure, "Death or Glory", for example. That is one of my songs, and we never played it live. But apart from some exceptions, I actually like all songs, so I wouldn't really care which ones we play, as long as we kick some ass.

Let's continue with some more general questions. If you had the possibility, what kind of film would you like to act in, and in which role?

"Pirates of the Caribbean" would be great, I'd be happy with an ordinary crew member. Or an evil Goa'Uld in "Stargate".

Who is or was a paragon or even an idol for you?

I don't have any idols or particular paragons. But I believe that Ghandi was very courageous and Siddharta Gautama was very wise. These are indeed people who inspire me.

So you are interested in history and politics?

Yes, very much, in fact. Although I'm not interested in historical dates, like precise days and years, but rather trends, developments and so on...

Which historic person would you like to talk to, and about what?

To Hildegard von Bingen and to Edgar Cayce about alternative medicine, to Octavian (Augustus) about leadership, to Cicero about literature and poetry, and to Mozart about music.

Ok, let's talk a little bit more about music: What do you associate with the following musicians?

Alice Cooper - old

Ludwig van Beethoven - ingenious

James Hetfield - tired

Lenny Kravitz - cool

Ozzy Osbourne - total madman

Rolf Kasparek - alien

Rob Halford - loud and cool

Jim Morrison - dead

Dave Mustaine - more dead

Timo Tolkki - STRATOVARIUS, AVANTASIA - cool guitarist

Doro Pesch - sings

Marylin Manson - sick

Chris Boltendahl - GRAVE DIGGER, don't know them too well

Now I would like to get back to RUNNING WILD. Please rate the following RUNNING WILD albums on a scale from 1 to 10 (1 = lousy, 10 = perfect):

Gates To Purgatory - 8

Branded And Exiled -5

Under Jolly Roger - 6

Port Royal - 8

Death Or Glory -10 :-)

Unfortunately, I don't know the other ones, sorry...

What is your favourite RUNNING WILD song, and why?

"Riding The Storm". I like the chorus very much, and playing it has always been a lot of fun for me.

Is there a RUNNING WILD song that you don't like at all?

In two words: "Black Demon".

Thanks a lot for your time!

It was a pleasure. And best regards to everyone!
www.running-wild.net / Copyright © 1996-2013 by Running Wild / Design: www.sourcepulse.biz
Running Wild Forum
Buy official Running Wild merchandise at Ballroom Hamburg
Running Wild @ amazon.de Facebook Official Twitter Official